

Department of Rural Development & Panchayat Raj

Government of Karnataka



New Delhi – Bengaluru

Seminar on

Karnataka Panchayat Raj Act Amendment Committee Report

12 Nov 2014

Venue:

Conference Hall, Vidhana Soudha

Bengaluru

Programme

09.30 am INAGURAL SESSION:

Chair:

Sri H. K. Patil

Hon'ble Minister, Rural Development & Panchayat Raj (RDPR) Government of Karnataka

Welcome Address:

Sri Gangaram Baderia Secretary, RDPR

Introductory Remarks

Dr. George Mathew Chairman Institute of Social Sciences

Address:

Mr. Onno Ruhl Country Representative The World Bank

Presidential Address:

Sri H. K. Patil, Hon'ble Minister RDPR

Inaugural Address:

Sri Siddaramaiah Hon'ble Chief Minister Government of Karnataka

Vote of Thanks:

Sri F. K. Jakkappanavar

Member, Karnataka Panchayat Raj Act Amendment Committee (KPRAAC)

11.00 am Tea

11.30 am WORKING SESSION- I

Chair:

Sri H. C. Mahadevappa Hon'ble Minister Public Works Government of Karnataka

Presentation:

Report of Karnataka Panchayat Raj Act Amendment Committee Smt. Nandana Reddy Member, Core Committee, KPRAAC Convenor, Grama Pamchayat Hakkotaya Andolana Director Development, The Concerned for Working Children

Speakers:

Sri M. R. Srinivasa Murthy

Chairman, Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission Former Principal Secretary, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj, Karnataka

Dr. Vinod Vyasulu

Advisor, Center for Information Technology and Public Policy

Dr. N. Sivanna,

Professor, Ramakrishna Hegde Chair Institute of Social and Economic Change

01.00 pm Lunch

02.00 pm

WORKING SESSION – II

Chair:

Sri C. Narayanaswamy, Chairman, Core Committee KPRAAC Former Member of Parliament

Speakers:

Smt. Rani Satish Former Minister, Kannada & Culture Government of Karnataka

Sri G. V. Srirama Reddy, State Secretary – CPI-M Former Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly

Sri Kota Srinivas Poojari Member, Karnataka Legislative Council Former Minister, Muzarai Government of Karnataka

03.30 pm

Tea

03.45 pm Valedictory Session:

Chair:

Sri Kagodu Thimmappa Hon'ble Speaker, Karnataka Legislative Assembly,

Guests of Honor:

Sri Dharam Singh
Former Chief Minister of Karnataka

Sri H. D. Kumara Swamy Former Chief Minister of Karnataka Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly

Sri Jagadish S Shettar Former Chief Minister of Karnataka Leader of the Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly

Concluding Remarks:

Sri K. R. Ramesh Kumar

Chairman - Karnataka Panchayat Raj Act Amendment Committee Former Speaker & Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly

Vote of Thanks

Dr.Subha.K

Regional Coordinator-South Institute of Social Sciences